Windows ME in the test: The biggest failure since Windows existed
The system recovery
One of the most important innovations and the purchase argument at all, undoubtedly represents the Windows Millennium System Restore. By default, System Restore is enabled when you install Windows Millennium. However, this requires at least 200 megabytes of free hard disk space on the Windows partition. If you don't have enough storage space, you can deactivate this program or reduce the storage space reserved for restoration, although 200 megabytes are the minimum. However, this argument is unlikely to convince anyone with today's hard drive sizes. The setting is to be done in the control panel, in the device manager under the option file system. System restore can then be deactivated under the 'Troubleshoot' tab.
After all, Windows Millennium first uses 12% of the hard disk spaceArchiving of the recovery points, and even with a 4.3 GB hard drive, over 500 megabytes are quickly accumulated, which are saved in a folder with the meaningful name Restore. If you cannot find this folder, you either have insufficient storage space, so that System Restore has been deactivated, or you have not activated the option to show hidden files and folders.
You can find this new tool under Start »Program» Accessories »System Tools» System Restore. The primary use of this function is to restore the system to an earlier, definable point in time. Software that cannot be uninstalled or simply does not have an uninstallation routine is just as much a problem as hardware that installs drivers when booting, making it impossible to continue working. However, Microsoft would like to point out once again that System Restore should not be misused to uninstall software. The application's deinstallation program is solely responsible for this.
A system that has been adjusted by trying it out or playing around with it can be brought back to work in a matter of minutes. System restore has an easy job here and can show all its strengths. A period of up to three weeks can be used to restore the computer to a stable state. The PC user who likes to test is advised to do this manually before installing new software or hardwarecreate a restore point. This means that the PC 'remembers' its current status and saves data that it needs for a possible recovery in a folder specially created for this purpose. It is also important to note that your current work such as saved documents, e-mail or your favorites in Internet Explorer will not be affected by System Restore. So your data cannot be destroyed. Despite Microsoft's statements, you should save your work separately before restoring it, because Murphy's Law is never sleeping. As a last option, it should be mentioned that you still have the option to undo a restore.
All in all, System Restore is a tool that the Windows world has had to do without for too long, a definite plus for Windows Millennium.
On the next page: The Help Center